First Advisor

Darrough, Galen P

Document Type


Date Created



Dr. David Conte (b. 1955) is a contemporary composer and one of the last students of the legendary Nadia Boulanger. Conte is one of the more prominent and well-respected American composers of our day, having composed a variety of works for both instruments and voice. This document covers two of his major works for SATB chorus and accompanimental ensembles consisting of piano four-hands and assorted percussion instruments. The first composition, American Triptych is an unpublished work comprised of three movements based on poetry from North American poets, including i thank You God (e.e. cummings), Veni Creator (Bliss Carman) and Mariner's Carol (W.S. Merwin). The second major work was the 2007 ACDA Brock Memorial Commission, entitled The Nine Muses. The first chapter includes the purpose, need, scope and methodology used in the study. The second chapter provides biographical information on David Conte, and includes a review of literature on his works. Chapter Three contains the analysis of the two major works, including discussion on the structure, texture, tonal organization, rhythm, melody and setting of text. Chapter Four provides the summary and conclusions of the study. Author-conducted interviews with David Conte and John Stirling Walker are included as appendices.

Abstract Format



American Triptych; The Nine Muses; Choral Music; Musical Analysis


239 pages

Local Identifiers


Rights Statement

Copyright is held by author.