First Advisor

Dahlke, Andrew

First Committee Member

Broadnax, Wesley

Second Committee Member

Kramer, Reiner

Third Committee Member

Zia, Ather

Document Type


Date Created



The clarinet and saxophone duo has become one of the standard chamber ensembles available to both instruments. However, there has been a lack of scholarship surrounding this ensemble and its music. This dissertation seeks to bring awareness to the duo and its music through providing an analysis and performance guide of three new works commissioned by Duo Velox. The first piece, Shots Fired by Caleb Westby is written for B-flat clarinet, tenor saxophone, and electronic playback. Shots Fired derives much of its thematic material from a post-tonal version of a theme from the Columbine Alma Mater by Frank Ticheli. The second piece, Vortex III by Attakorn Sookjaeng is written for B-flat clarinet and alto saxophone. Attakorn combines aspects of his two previous Vortex works, originally for solo soprano saxophone, to create Vortex III. The last piece Polarized by John Kosch is unique in that it was written for mixed woodwind duo. Each performer is required to play both B-flat clarinet and alto saxophone. Kosch utilized two themes one aggressive and one timid to illustrate the current political climate through music. Each analysis utilizes unique analytical tools derived from post tonal theory, such as set class theory and motivic transformation. Within the formal analysis of Shots Fired, the electronic playback is analyzed through the method found within Narrative Soundscape Composition as described by Yvette Janine Jackson. Narrative Soundscape Composition is a subgenre of Soundscape Composition where a narrative of a location is described through electroacoustic means. The analysis of the electronic playback in Shots Fired also utilizes and expands upon David Cope’s listening method. Following the analyses, a performance guide that is informed by the preceding analysis is included to aid performers in preparing each piece. The performance guide is divided into three sections: Instrumental Considerations, Chamber Considerations, and Giving an Informed Performance.

Abstract Format



218 pages

Local Identifiers


Rights Statement

Copyright is held by the author.